The Greatest Love Song of All Time

02/14/2014 § 6 Comments

Having recently returned from my honeymoon, I might be a little shmoopier than usual, but since this is the nationally-recognized day for all shades of shmoop, I submit to you my unequivocal nomination for Greatest Pop Love Song of All Time.*

You may know it as the song from National Lampoon’s Animal House or the song that inevitably makes the playlist of banquet-hall wedding receptions across the American Midwest. It’s “Shout” (parts 1 & 2) by The Isley Brothers.

It’s much more than an old favorite, though. It’s the perfect pop love song.

photo of The Isley Brothers

You been good to me, baby.

“Shout” really does have everything a pop love song should have: an earnest profession of love; praise for the beloved; a bit of narrative (“I still remember/when you used to be nine years old…”); lightweight conflict; a healthy dose of pleading; and of course passion—the innocent, hyped up, heart-rate cranking, almost-out-of-control kind.

I invite you to give it a listen with fresh ears. For listening purposes mostly, the following video is the best I could find on YouTube. I wanted the video I posted here to have a) both parts 1 & 2 (Did you even know the original single was in two parts? I didn’t. The A-side of the 7” released in 1959 was Shout – part 1, and the B-side was the “even wilder” Shout – part 2 ), b) stereo quality, and 3) visuals that weren’t too terribly distracting.

This one fits my criteria well enough.** You’ll notice that the video is slightly out of sync with the audio and that it’s actually two separate performances stitched together, but them’s the breaks. I do like that we get a chance to see the Isleys and their enthusiastic performance(s). They’re pretty cool cats.

I love the roots of the song, too. The Isley Brothers started their career performing gospel music. Then they went secular and crossed over into doo-wop, and with inspiration from Jackie Wilson’s call-and-answer style in “Lonely Teardrops,” they made “Shout.”

Many groups would go on to cover the song. Some would even have more commercial success with it. But for me, The Isleys’ version is the best, most joyful of them all.

My love for the track began long ago. Growing up, we had a red radio/cassette player in our kitchen. Most of the time, it was tuned to Oldies 93 WBBG, and whenever “Shout” came on, we went nuts. As soon as the opening We-eee-eeellll… came through that red radio, it was game on. My mom would chase us around the house, kicking up her heels and throwing her arms up for every “shout.” (That, Dear Reader, is why my mom is an awesome mother.) Admittedly, the ritual was a little terrifying, like running from the Boogeyman, but it was mostly a huge thrill. When the song was over, we’d collapse on the kitchen floor, panting and laughing.

Remember what I said about “Shout” and wedding receptions? Well, a different female relative of mine (who will remain nameless) has a fantastic reception prank: She gets the DJ to play “Shout” twice. This is no small feat, as “Shout” is a very physical song. According to Wikipedia (This is just one example of why Wikipedia slays me), “‘Shout’ has woven itself into many iconic American mediums such as a dance song in which people progressively crouch down to the dance floor as the song gets quieter.” There’s also the small detail that wedding DJs don’t usually like to repeat songs.

So how on earth does Anonymous Relative pull this off? A little while after “Shout” is played the first time, she finds the bride and asks if she can request the bride’s favorite song. She then immediately goes to the DJ and requests that “Shout” be played again per the bride’s direct orders. When the DJ (inevitably) balks, she gets the bride’s attention. Not realizing what she’s approving, the bride gives a thumbs-up, and so “Shout” gets its second play of the night.

Total genius.

Anonymous Relative notes that the crowd is invariably less enthusiastic during the second play of “Shout.” The guests get a little less softer now, jump a little less high. But it’s still worth it.

So go ahead and play it again, Dear Reader. Wherever you are, whatever your feelings (or non-feelings) about Valentine’s Day, kick your heels up, throw your hands up, throw your head back.

(Don’t forget to say you will.)

________

*With lyrics written in the English language and recorded within the last hundred years, according to me and only me. Backstory: Once upon a time, I asked a sampling of friends to tell me their all-time favorite love songs. I got everything from R. Kelly’s “12 Play” to Sarah McLachlan’s “Ice Cream.” It was the best survey ever.

**A couple of videos that didn’t make the main cut but are interesting nonetheless:

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to The Greatest Love Song of All Time

  • GAA says:

    Hmmm…are you the “anonymous relative”…I’ve seen you at wedding receptions when Shout comes up…. not to mention a certain Farm Open House Wedding Reception CD that I listened to just this morning. We have the Joey Dee and the Starliters 45! Listening to it now- I agree the original by the Isley’s is best!! Happy Valentine’s Day to you, too. And to Mom C.! Love it.

  • I wish I could take credit for the double Shout, but alas, no. I want to see/hear that 45 sometime….Happy V Day! And thanks, as always, for reading. XO

  • JR Biggs says:

    Let me also declare that Shout is the official, Mansfield Senior ultimate Krunk dance song for 15+ years! I may have to steel the idea to play it twice to see how that goes.

    Oh and the Buffalo Bills still play shout after scores.

    • The double play of “Shout” would be the ultimate wedding gift to any Mansfield Senior alum, don’t you think? But awesomely luxurious beach towels are nice, too. 😉 P.S. The Bills now have a little piece of my heart.

  • I read this on V-Day and meant to comment on it then. 1) Your mom IS an awesome mother and I’d imagine she and my mom would be great friends if they lived closer. 2) I love this post. Shout is a great love song for all the reasons you wrote about,”an earnest profession of love; praise for the beloved; a bit of narrative (‘I still remember/when you used to be nine years old…’); lightweight conflict; a healthy dose of pleading; and of course passion—the innocent, hyped up, heart-rate cranking, almost-out-of-control kind.” The “nine years old” line always gets me because I can imagine it as a long-time friend/love or a father singing it to his child. Great analysis! You’ve got my vote.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Greatest Love Song of All Time at c lee tressel.

meta